top of page

In Students Shoes


End of October we had the honor to welcome the new friends from UAE in our school. Ms Dragana and I have heard that this family used to live in Germany for a while, and as a German teacher and German student we were instantly interested to his story.

PI: Good morning, Sultan. Would you please tell us something about your life in Germany? How long have you lived there?

Sultan: I spent four years in Germany; I was there from year six until year nine. It was really nice. I used to hang around with friends all the time and we went to the movies together at least once a week.

PI: Have you trained something there and is sport obligatory in Germany?

Sultan: No, sport was not an obligatory activity. It was voluntary. I was interested in doing some sport and playing basketball was my father’s and my common decision. I played basketball twice a week after school days. I had trained for two years and had really enjoyed time spent with my friends on the field.

PI: Why did you stop?

Sultan: I had too many obligations at school. I had to study so much and then at one point of time I barely attended my basketball training, so I decided to stop. I miss training though.

PI: Give us some advice here. How did school in Germany make sport attractive?

Sultan: We traveled to other countries for tournaments and had some lovely time there. Those schools also came to Germany to play with us. When my friends went to Germany with the club, I was sick and I am still sorry for that, they were successful, they took the third place and had so much fun and I could not be with them, at least for support.

PI: Do you miss sport? Would you train something here in Serbia?

Sultan: I’d like to start playing basketball again, but I am very busy at the moment and I am afraid that the same thing that happened in Germany can happen here.

PI: Do you think that it is important to do sports?

Sultan: Not very much, but I think that a person should be able to play at least one sport at average level, to keep up with something. And it is kind of fun. It is also fun when you are good at something.

PI: Do you miss Germany?

Sultan: I like it here, but, yes, sometimes I do miss my all friends. I will visit my old school during summer festival, that’s when many old students come and then I can also meet my old friends.

PI: Do you like PRIMA?

Sultan: Yes. It’s pretty nice. People were pretty welcoming when I came here and I already gained some close friends.

We wish you a lot of success and a lot of fun here, Sultan!

Until the next issue! Stay inspired!


bottom of page